How to create an irresistible offer (that’s proven to sell)
Feb 5, 2024
25:50
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Learn the power of extraordinary long warranties in increasing the likelihood of purchase. Explore how loyalty programs, rewards, and free components can boost customer lifetime value. Discover the revenue potential of offering free shipping subscriptions. Find out the impact of limited time promotions and strategies for online offers. Get insights into the release of a playbook for e-commerce optimization and upcoming projects.
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Quick takeaways
Offering extraordinary warranties can increase intent to buy by demonstrating high quality and building trust.
Framing promotions by describing the restriction first and then the offer makes the offer feel like a reward rather than a restriction and increases click-through rates.
Deep dives
Create Extraordinarily Long Warranties to Boost Sales
In a study published in the Journal of Business Research, it was found that offering extraordinary warranties can significantly increase the intent to buy. For unfamiliar brands, offering long warranties can demonstrate high quality and build trust. For example, participants were 34.8% more likely to buy a hoodie with a 10-year warranty and 16.6% more likely to buy car tires with an 80,000-mile warranty. However, this effect may not work well for products in unfamiliar categories.
Describe the Restriction Before the Offer for Better Response
When framing promotions, it is more effective to describe the restriction first and then the offer. For instance, saying 'spend $200 and get $40 off' is more appealing than saying 'get $40 off by spending $200'. This technique makes the offer feel like a reward rather than a restriction. A study conducted in collaboration with the Dallas Mavericks found that messages with the restriction first had an 8% higher click-through rate compared to messages with the offer first.
Auto-Enroll Customers into a Loyalty Program for Repeat Business
Research published in Marketing Science suggests that auto-enrolling customers into a simple loyalty program can significantly increase their likelihood of repeat purchases. For example, a chain of men's hair salons introduced a $5 coupon reward for every $100 spent for some customers. These customers showed a projected lifetime value increase of 29.5% over five years compared to non-auto-enrolled customers. Loyalty programs create a connection with customers and encourage them to feel more connected to the company.
Learn the 7 scientifically-proven tips which are certified to improve your offer, and create a promotion that’s “too good to refuse”. Today Thomas McKinlay, founder of Ariyh is back on the show with more marketing-science wisdom. You’ll hear why extraordinary long warranties win, how time-limited offers fail, and why a thank you note isn’t as sweet as it seems.